Managing Users in the Class Roster/Roll

Last updated: November 11th, 2022.

Jump to:

Inviting Users Outside of the Classroom

1.

After creating a class, you can invite users to join. Select Class Schedule.

2.

Select the class you would like to invite users to on the left-hand side. Once selected, the class will be highlighted in blue, and on the right-hand side, you will select Class Roll/Roster.

3.

A Class Roll box will pop up. You will appear listed as an instructor. Select Invite Users.

4.

The invite users window allows you to invite users using Simple mode, Advanced mode, and bulk import.

You will have the option to Send email on invite.

In Simple mode, you are able to type the user’s first name, last name, and email address. Once done, select invite.

5.

You can also add multiple users by selecting the plus button.

Advanced Mode

1.

Advanced mode allows you to enter multiple users at a time. Make sure to follow the format: Firstname, Lastname, example@mail.com

Bulk Import

1.

Bulk Import allows you to upload a .csv file with student names and email addresses. You are able to view a sample roster. You are able to drag and drop here or select a file. Any duplicate email addresses will be highlighted after import and will not allow the user to submit. The system will display a message notifying a user to navigate to errors, with a link, to review the errors found in the uploaded CSV file. There they will review and address errors, such as invalid inputs, missing required fields, or duplicative email addresses.

Note:

Specifically, with respect to importing users into the roster via CSV, the maximum limit to be able to import is about 5,000 users. The cap is on the file size (2 MB) rather than the number of records to import (Although that does not mean 5,000 people can attend a class meeting. Please check out our knowledge base article on Zoom Licenses).

Here is an example of how to format the .csv file.

Inviting users Inside the Classroom

1.

You can also add users to a classroom once inside the class. Select Join from the class schedule.

2.

Select the Class Mgmt icon under the podium on the left-hand side of the Class app. Clicking on this icon will bring up your Class Management menu. Clicking on the Class Roll icon will bring up the Class Roll window, where you will see a button to add users.

3.

The invite users window allows you to invite students using Simple mode, Advanced mode, and bulk import. Once you click Submit, the users will receive an invitation email with access to the class. It will also be added to the users’ schedule in the Class app.

4.

The users’ names will populate under participants in the class when the class roll tab is closed. They will be marked absent until they join the class. It is recommended that users enter the class via the link sent to their email or under Today’s Classes after the class has been added to their schedule.

Inviting Users Using the Link or Meeting Id and Passcode

1.

You can also add users by sending a link to the class. Click the info button in the top left corner of your Class. Select the Copy Link button to copy the course information.

Once you’ve copied the course information to your class, you can paste it into an email, post it in your LMS, or send it to your users in other ways. When users join using this link, they’ll be added to your roster once verified. This may be the easiest and fastest way to add users to your Class!

How to Delete a User within a Class

1.

Instructors can delete a user from the class roster at any time. This is different than removing a user from the class session. In the Sidebar on the left-hand side of the Class app, click Class Mgmt and select the Class Roster option. A pop-up window within Class will display every user who has been added to the roster. Select the trash bin to delete a user.

Please note: Depending on the terminology set in the admin settings, this can be called Class Roster.

2.

Another pop-up will ask if you are sure you want to delete the user. Select Delete.

3.

You will receive a loading screen and be brought back to the class roster window. When you select cancel, you will be brought back to the class roster window as well.

How to Delete a User from outside a class

1.

To delete a user from outside of a class, select Class Schedule on the Class app homepage.

2.

Once you have selected your class, on the right-hand side of the app, select Class Roll.

Please note: Depending on the terminology set in the admin settings, this can be called Class Roster.

3.

A window will pop up with the users in the roster. To delete a user, select the three dots, and then select delete. You will be brought back to the roster.

If you select cancel, you will be be brought back to the roster.

How to Remove a User from a Class

1.

Instructors have the ability to remove a user from class at any time. This is different than deleting a user from the class roll. In the Sidebar on the left-hand side of the Class app, find the users name and click the blue More button to reveal a drop-down menu.

Select Remove to push the user out of the class.

2.

You will be prompted to confirm if you wish to remove the user. Select cancel or remove.

3.

Users will receive a message that they have been kicked out of the class. They will be unable to re-join.

4.

Please note: If you’d like participants the ability to rejoin after being removed, please go to your advanced Zoom settings and enable the functionality.

Contact our Support Team

Open a Support CaseEmail Support Team

Support Number: 888-975-1112 | 24/7 End-user support  |  Premium SLA: 24 hours  |  Standard SLA: 72 hours
Class Support Services Guide