Share Screen

Last updated: July 27, 2022.

Overview: Class allows you to showcase the content on your screen using the screen share feature.

This creates a forced-follow experience for your participants and provides you with complete control over the pace at which your learners are exposed to the material.

If you are unable to share on macOS, please follow the steps in this knowledge base article.

1.

To share your content or screen, click Share Screen located in the center of the bottom toolbar. 

2.

Basic:

Share your entire desktop and specific application windows. Choose one of the screen share options (shown here as Desktop 1, 2, or Google Chrome). You can display different monitors or a specific application. Once selected, click Share.

3.

Advanced:

  • Music or Computer Sound Only: Only share your computer’s audio (your selected speaker in your audio settings).
  • Portion of Screen: Share a portion of your screen represented by a green border. The border can be adjusted as needed during the share by clicking and dragging any side or corner.
  • Content from 2nd Camera: Share a secondary camera connected to your computer; for example, a document camera or the integrated camera on your laptop.

4.

To allow other users to share their screen, select the “^”. You can toggle on who can share and who can start sharing when someone else is sharing.

5.

When you start sharing your screen, the meeting controls will move into a menu that you can drag around your screen.

  • Mute/Unmute: Mute or unmute your microphone.
  • Start/Stop Video: Start or stop your in-meeting video.
  • New Share: Start a new screen share. You will be prompted to select which screen you want to share again.
  • Pause Share: Pause your current shared screen.
  • Annotate: Display annotation tools for drawing, adding text, and so on.
  • More: Hover over More for additional options.
    • Record: Start recording locally or to the cloud.
    • Meeting Info: Shows the current meeting’s ID, host, passcode, invite link, participant ID, and encryption status.

6.

You will not see your shared content within the Class app – the screen being shared will show a green box around the content being displayed. To see students while sharing, select Video Placement: Float. This will bring the gallery view outside of the app in order to be seen during a screen share.

Share Screen: If you have a slideshow that you want to share, you would choose to Share Screen so that you are able to maintain control of the navigation pace and display of the slides to participants. 

Share Files: If you upload the slides in Share Files, participants can navigate the slides on their own but won’t see your navigation, even if you choose to present the uploaded file on your end of Class. 

Think of the difference like this: in Share Files, you’ve just given participants access to the files: to download, scroll through, view at their own pace, etc. But when you’re presenting a slideshow through Screen Sharing, you’re controlling how and when the slides advance.

Share Screen on iPad

1.

iPad instructors may share their entire screen, but may not share in these ways that are available on desktop:

    1. Music or Computer Sound only

    2. Portion of Screen

    3. Content from 2nd Camera

    4. A particular application

2.

Advanced sharing options are available in the more button in the bottom toolbar, rather than as an additional option in the share screen widget

3.

iPad instructors do not have the option to toggle allowing instructors only or all participants to start sharing when someone else is sharing as this is desktop only.

Contact our Support Team

Open a Support CaseEmail Support Team

Support Number: 888-975-1112 | 24/7 End-user support  |  Premium SLA: 24 hours  |  Standard SLA: 72 hours
Class Support Services Guide